About Me

So....I guess since I decided to add pages to my blog, I should write something in an "about me" section. 

I'm a 29-year-old mother, wife, daughter, friend.  My family and I live in a small town in Iowa.  I love living in Iowa and don't really care to change that any time soon.  I attended a small private college in Iowa and often heard people telling family, friends and anyone who would listen that they went to college "in the middle of a corn field."  Yes, we're surrounded by corn - fields and fields of it. 

Hubby and I have been married for 7 years this July.  We have a 3-year-old son who is gorgeous.  He's gonna be such a heart-breaker when he gets older.  Our family got bigger in November with the birth of our baby girl - whose hair sticks straight up as she stares you down with her beautiful blue eyes.

We also have a dog, my 6 1/2-yr-old Imperial Shih Tzu, Evie; and a big black kitty, Skilar, but he lives with my MIL.  I work for the local school district as a Juvenile Court Liaison/At-Risk Coordinator.  It can be trying, but it's a good fit for our family at the moment. 

I was inspired to teach myself to knit after my grandmother's passing.  She loved being able to gift handmade items to her loved ones.  I think of her often when I pick up the needles.

I dabble in a lot of crafts from cross-stitch to polymer clay to knitting and sewing.  Before Christmas I taught myself to crochet but find I still prefer to knit. 

I have an Etsy shop where I sell Interchangeable Knitting Needle Cases and occasionally hand-dyed yarn.  I'm always surprised when I get a new order as I feel noone knows I'm out there!

I love chocolate chip cookies and mint ice cream.  I sing along to all the Disney songs while the movie is playing.  I can recite Cinderella and Bambi by heart.  I hate coconut and don't really care for the smell of coffee.  I read, a lot. I play piano occasionally - it soothes me.

It's a bit random- but there you have it! ~Rae Lynne